Home / Answer the Phone & Book / Dialpad
Solo-fit verdictSolo-ReadyThe best-value phone system here for a solo who answers their own calls and wants AI notes on all of them — with the catch that an AI which answers and books for you is a separate, custom-quoted layer with no published price.
True solo cost · low$15/mo$15/month for 1 user on Connect Standard billed annually ($27 billed monthly) — no seat minimum is published, so a true solo can buy a single seat. That price covers the phone system and built-in AI transcription and summaries; the autonomous AI Agent layer is custom-quoted on top.
True solo cost · typical$25/mo$25/month for 1 user on Connect Pro billed annually ($35 billed monthly) — the tier with automatic call recording and advanced integrations. Any autonomous AI answering through Dialpad Resolve is a separate custom quote, so no all-in typical figure can be published honestly.
Rank #19 of 19 in Phone & BookingFree start 14-day free trialSetup Same dayControl Acts + logs everythingNo-code 4/5Checked · prices checked 2026-11-07
Visit Dialpad ↗ Compare all answer the phone & book agents
The short version
Dialpad Connect is a unified phone system from $15/user/month billed annually with AI transcription and summaries built in; its autonomous AI Agent layer (Dialpad Resolve) is priced separately and only by custom quote in AI Agent Credits.
Buy it if
You answer your own calls and want the cheapest polished system with AI transcription, summaries, messaging and meetings in one app — and a single seat is genuinely all you need.
Skip it if
Your main need is an AI that answers and books autonomously at a published price — Dialpad quotes that layer privately, while standalone receptionists in this job publish theirs.
What Dialpad does — the jobs it finishes
Workflows are built only from verified capabilities in our listing research — no vendor copy, nothing invented.
Your calls, transcribed and summarised
Starts Any call or meeting on your Dialpad number
- Dialpad AI transcribes the conversation in real time
- A post-call summary with action items is created automatically
You get Searchable notes for every call without typing
You focus on the conversation instead of note-taking
After-hours routing you control
Starts A call arrives outside your working hours
- Your custom after-hours routing applies — menu, forwarding or voicemail, as configured
- Up to five forwarding numbers can ring alongside your Dialpad number
You get Callers reach the route you chose, not a dead end
The phone behaves after hours the way you set it, in minutes, from the dashboard
An AI Agent takes a booking (Resolve layer)
Starts A caller asks the AI Agent to schedule, route or look something up
- The AI Agent works within the bounded actions you approved across your tools
- The conversation draws on your AI Agent Credits pool only when the AI retrieves information or executes a real action
- Complex cases are handed to a human agent with context
You get A completed scheduling, routing or lookup action, logged for supervision
Routine conversations resolve without you — at a custom-quoted credit cost
Keep your number, move to the cloud
Starts You sign up and want your existing number
- Start the 14-day trial and pick or port a number
- Local and toll-free porting is included on every Connect plan
You get Your established number ringing in Dialpad
No new number to advertise and no lost inbound calls
Where it stops
- The autonomous AI Agent layer is not included in the $15 seat price and has no published price — it is custom-quoted in AI Agent Credits
- No free-forever Connect plan — entry is a 14-day free trial
- Connect itself does not book appointments for you; scheduling as an autonomous action belongs to the separately priced AI Agent layer
- Not a human answering service — callers who need a person reach you or your team
Getting started
Before you start
- An email, Google or Microsoft 365 account for self-service signup
- Your existing number if you want to port it (local and toll-free porting included)
- A decision on whether you also need the custom-quoted AI Agent layer, or just the phone system
The ongoing admin
- Review AI summaries and transcripts for calls that need a personal follow-up
- Keep auto-attendant and after-hours routing current as your hours change
- If you buy AI Agent Credits, watch conversation usage — only value-delivering conversations are billable, per the pricing page
Step 1Start the 14-day free trial
Sign up in minutes with a Google or Microsoft 365 account; you get a virtual number and the full phone system to test, with no IT support required.
Step 2Set your attendant and after-hours rules
Configure the multi-level auto attendant, voicemail greetings and custom after-hours routing yourself from the online dashboard.
Step 3Choose Standard or Pro
Standard at $15/user/month billed annually covers most solos; step to Pro at $25 for automatic call recording and advanced integrations.
Step 4Quote the AI Agent layer separately, if you need it
Autonomous answering and scheduling live in Dialpad Resolve, sold as a custom-priced AI Agent Credits pool — get the per-credit rate in writing before budgeting on it.
Time to first useful result: Same day · no-code 4/5
Full pricing — checked 2026-11-07
Connect, per user, with no published seat minimum: Standard $15/user/month billed annually ($27 billed monthly), Pro $25/user/month billed annually ($35 billed monthly), Enterprise custom. The autonomous AI Agent layer (Dialpad Resolve, formerly Dialpad AI Agents) is priced separately and custom-quoted: the pricing page presents it as a pool of AI Agent Credits, billable only when the AI retrieves information or executes a real action such as scheduling, routing or order lookup, with no published per-credit price.
Solo pickConnect Standard
$15/user/month billed annually ($27/user/month billed monthly) — no seat minimum published
Per seat / month · $15/mo for one person
- Unlimited calling in the US and Canada
- 1 local virtual phone number per user
- SMS/MMS messaging in the US and Canada
- Multi-level auto attendant, custom voicemail greetings and custom after-hours routing
- Real-time AI transcription and post-call summaries
- Manual call recording
- Video meetings and team messaging in the same app
Allowance Per user; no seat minimum is published on the official pages checked
Limit Automatic call recording starts on Pro
Limit The autonomous AI Agent layer is not included — it is priced separately and custom-quoted
Connect Pro
$25/user/month billed annually ($35/user/month billed monthly)
Per seat / month · $25/mo for one person
- Everything in Standard
- Automatic call recording
- Advanced integrations
- Multi-office management
Allowance Per user; no seat minimum is published on the official pages checked
Limit The autonomous AI Agent layer remains a separate custom-priced product
Connect Enterprise
Custom pricing — contact sales
Custom / quoted · $null/mo for one person
- Everything in Pro
- Custom terms for larger and more complex needs
Limit Sales-quoted — not a solo route
Add-onDialpad Resolve / AI Agents — Custom pricing — AI Agent Credits pool; a conversation is billable only when the AI retrieves information or executes a real action (for example scheduling, routing or order lookup); no per-credit price is published. The autonomous answering-and-booking layer, priced separately from every Connect plan, per the pricing page
What could make the bill jump?
The seat price is flat and low, but the real jump is unpublishable: autonomous AI answering moves you from a $15 seat to a custom-quoted AI Agent Credits pool, and the vendor does not publish the per-credit rate, so the all-in bill cannot be predicted from the pricing page.
Billing unitper user per month (Connect) plus custom-priced AI Agent Credits (Dialpad Resolve)
Free tier / trialNo free-forever Connect plan. A 14-day free trial with self-service setup is the entry route.
Pricing clarityUsage-based but predictable
Price record · 2026-11-07: Checked 2026-11-07. METHOD DISCLOSURE: dialpad.com/pricing/ was read directly this run, but in its current state that page presents only the Agentic AI offering at 'Custom Pricing' (AI Agent Credits pool; a conversation is billable only when the AI retrieves information or executes a real action such as scheduling, routing or order lookup) and does not render the Connect plan figures as extractable text. The Connect figures here are therefore corroborated dated reads of the SAME official domain only: Dialpad's official LLM information page (dialpad.com/llm-info/, last updated November 2026) states Standard $15/user/month annual or $27 monthly, Pro $25 annual or $35 monthly, Enterprise custom, and a 14-day free trial; the vendor's official VoIP cost guide states the same annual figures; and its official virtual-phone-number product page confirms Connect starts at $15/user/month with 1 local number per user, unlimited US & Canada calling, SMS/MMS, porting on all plans, manual recording on all plans and automatic recording on Pro. No seat minimum is stated in any of these official reads. Dialpad Resolve (formerly Dialpad AI Agents) is listed as 'contact sales for pricing' on the vendor's official information page. Entry tier plus scaling rule (per user, annual vs monthly, AI agents custom-quoted separately) recorded.
At a glance — the standard checklist
The same fields on every deep listing in this job, so agents compare field by field. “Not verified” means our research has not confirmed it yet — it never means “doesn't have it.”
- Platforms✓ IncludedApps for iPhone, Android, iPad, PC and Mac, per the vendor's official virtual-number product page
- Key integrations✓ IncludedThe vendor's official pages name an app marketplace including Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk, Google Workspace and Microsoft 365
- Languages? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pricing or product pages checked for this listing.
- Support channels? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pricing or product pages checked for this listing.
- Help centre / documentation? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pricing or product pages checked for this listing.
- Free plan— Not includedNo free-forever Connect plan is published; entry is a 14-day free trial
- Free trial✓ Included14-day free trial with self-service setup, stated on the vendor's official pricing overview and product pages
- Human control model✓ IncludedAI agents coordinate handoffs and escalations to human agents, and you set bounded actions across your approved tools and workflows, per the pricing page
- Approval controls✓ IncludedThe pricing page states AI agents act within bounded actions across your approved tools and workflows, and can be tested and supervised
- Data export / exit route? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pricing or product pages checked for this listing.
- Setup model✓ IncludedSelf-service signup in minutes with a Google or Microsoft 365 account, per the vendor's official product page; no IT support required for the trial
- Voice calls✓ IncludedUnlimited inbound and outbound calling within the US and Canada on every Connect plan, per the vendor's official product page
- SMS✓ IncludedSMS/MMS text messaging in the US and Canada is included on Standard, Pro and Enterprise, per the vendor's official product page
- Calendar booking✓ IncludedScheduling is named on the pricing page as a real action the AI Agent can execute (a billable conversation) — that autonomous layer is Dialpad Resolve, priced separately and custom-quoted, not a built-in Connect Standard feature
- Call transfer✓ IncludedCall forwarding to up to five numbers and custom routing are on the product page; the pricing page describes coordinating human and AI agents across every handoff and escalation
- Call recording / transcripts✓ IncludedReal-time AI transcription and post-call summaries on every plan; manual call recording on all plans, automatic recording on Pro and Enterprise
- Number porting✓ IncludedLocal and toll-free porting is included on Standard, Pro and Enterprise, per the vendor's official product page table
- After-hours rules✓ IncludedCustom after-hours call routing is a named Standard-plan feature on the vendor's official product page, and the AI agents are presented as always-on coverage
Best for
- Solos who answer their own calls and want AI transcription and summaries on every one of them
- Founders who want calling, messaging and meetings in one app at the lowest published seat price
- Single-seat buyers — no seat minimum is published, unlike the 2- and 3-seat floors elsewhere in this job
Not for
- Buyers who need a published, self-serve price for autonomous AI answering and booking
- Anyone expecting Connect Standard itself to book appointments — that action belongs to the custom-priced Resolve layer
- Businesses that need a human answering service behind the AI
Our assessment of Dialpad
Dialpad Connect is a unified business phone system — calling, messaging and meetings in one app — with Dialpad's AI built into every plan, and a true solo can buy it one seat at a time. As of November 2026, Connect Standard is $15 per user a month billed annually ($27 billed monthly) and Pro is $25 ($35 monthly), with Enterprise custom-priced, and no seat minimum is published on the official pages checked. Standard already includes unlimited calling in the US and Canada, one local number per user, SMS and MMS, a multi-level auto attendant, custom after-hours routing, real-time AI transcription, post-call summaries and manual call recording, with automatic recording added on Pro. The AI receptionist story needs care: Dialpad's autonomous layer, now called Dialpad Resolve and formerly Dialpad AI Agents, is priced separately from Connect and, as officially presented on its pricing page, is custom-priced — you purchase a pool of AI Agent Credits, and a conversation is billable only when the AI retrieves information or executes a real action such as scheduling, routing or an order lookup. So the $15 headline buys an excellent AI-assisted phone system you answer yourself; an AI that answers and books for you is a sales-quoted layer whose per-credit price is not published. If you want transcription, summaries and a polished app for your own calls at the lowest seat price in this job, Dialpad is hard to beat. If you want a published, self-serve AI answering price today, the standalone receptionists in this job state theirs and Dialpad does not.
Pros — our take
- Lowest published seat price among the full phone systems here, and a true solo can buy one seat — no minimum is published
- AI transcription and post-call summaries are built into every plan, not an add-on
- Flat, published Connect pricing for the system you answer yourself, with a 14-day self-serve trial
Cons — our take
- The autonomous AI agent layer is custom-priced with no published per-credit rate, so the answering bill cannot be budgeted from the site
- Appointment scheduling as an autonomous action sits in that separate layer, not in Connect Standard
- The main pricing page no longer renders the Connect figures as text — they had to be corroborated across the vendor's other official pages
Solo Fit input · no-code4/5 — can a non-technical owner run it?
Solo Fit input · setupSame day to the first useful result
Solo Fit input · human controlActs + logs everything
Solo Fit input · pricing clarityUsage-based but predictable
Solo Fit stays the public score: the qualitative roll-up of these four published inputs under the How We Rank method. A single-seat $15 entry and self-serve setup carry it; clarity is held back because the autonomous AI Agent layer has no published price at all.
Three to compare before you decide
The difference: JustCall publishes its AI agent meter ($0.99/minute or $99/$249 bundles) but forces a 2-seat floor; Dialpad sells a solo a single $15 seat, yet quotes its AI Agent credits privately.
The difference: CloudTalk bundles its AI receptionist in published 200-minute blocks on top of a per-seat plan; Dialpad's Connect seat is cheaper, but its autonomous agent layer has no published price.
The difference: Quo includes its AI agent (Sona) in every plan for a starter set of calls, then credit tiers; Dialpad includes AI transcription in the seat, not autonomous answering.
Questions buyers ask about Dialpad
What does Dialpad really cost a solo founder?
Connect Standard is $15 for one user a month billed annually ($27 billed monthly) and Pro is $25 ($35 monthly), corroborated on Dialpad's official pages on 2026-11-07, and no seat minimum is published. That buys the phone system with built-in AI transcription and summaries. The autonomous AI Agent layer is custom-quoted on top, so an all-in answering price cannot be stated from published figures.
Does Dialpad include an AI receptionist?
Not in the Connect seat price. Dialpad's autonomous layer — Dialpad Resolve, formerly Dialpad AI Agents — is priced separately as a pool of AI Agent Credits, and the pricing page states a conversation is billable only when the AI retrieves information or executes a real action such as scheduling, routing or order lookup. No per-credit price is published; the vendor's official information page says to contact sales for Resolve pricing.
Can I keep my existing number?
Yes. Local and toll-free porting is included on Standard, Pro and Enterprise, and every plan includes one local virtual number per user if you want a new one, per the vendor's official product page checked on 2026-11-07.
Is there a free trial?
Yes — a 14-day free trial of Dialpad Connect with self-service setup and no IT support required. You sign up with a Google or Microsoft 365 account, get a virtual number during signup, and can close the account at the end of the trial.
Stacks & next steps
Dialpad is not in a published stack yet — stacks are edited buying guides, and memberships are added only when the combination has been worked through.
Compare all answer the phone & book agents → · How we rank → · Get a weekly shortlist →
Provenance — where this page’s facts came from