Home / Answer the Phone & Book / RingCentral AI Receptionist
Solo-fit verdictSolo-ReadyStrong if you already run RingEX or your calls are few and short — the catch is a 100-minute allowance that a busy phone burns through in days.
True solo cost · lowfrom $74At ~50 calls/mo at ~3 minutes each (~150 minutes), about $74/mo standalone ($49 plus 50 overage minutes at $0.50).
True solo cost · typicalfrom $299At ~200 calls/mo at ~3 minutes each (~600 minutes), about $299/mo standalone ($49 plus 500 overage minutes at $0.50) — the minute meter, not the headline, is the real price at this volume.
Rank #17 of 17 in Phone & BookingFree start 14-day free trialSetup Under 1 hourControl Acts + logs everythingNo-code 5/5Checked · prices checked 2026-11-06
Visit RingCentral AI Receptionist ↗ Compare all answer the phone & book agents
The short version
RingCentral AI Receptionist is a capable natural-language front desk from a major phone platform, sold standalone or as a RingEX add-on, both with only 100 minutes included.
Buy it if
You already pay for RingEX (the $39 add-on is then genuinely cheap), or your call volume is low and you want multilingual answering plus real calendar booking from an established platform.
Skip it if
Your phone is busy: past 100 minutes the $0.50/minute meter makes this one of the most expensive options here at solo volumes, and per-call or flat rivals will cost far less.
What RingCentral AI Receptionist does — the jobs it finishes
Workflows are built only from verified capabilities in our listing research — no vendor copy, nothing invented.
Every call answered, in the caller's language
Starts A call arrives during work, after hours or while your queue is full
- AIR answers in natural language and detects the caller's language from their first words, switching automatically across 10+ languages
- It resolves routine questions from your website, FAQs and documents
- Anything it cannot resolve is routed with context
You get A resolved call or a warm, informed handoff instead of voicemail
No caller is lost to a busy signal or a language barrier
Appointment booked and confirmed by text
Starts A caller asks to book or reschedule
- AIR checks your Google or Outlook calendar, or your Calendly setup
- It books or reschedules in real time and can generate a meeting link
- A confirmation text goes to the caller
You get A confirmed appointment with no staff follow-up
Booking completes on the call, not in a later callback
Lead captured straight into your CRM
Starts A new caller enquires about your services
- AIR asks your custom intake questions and collects name, number and intent
- The lead is logged automatically in Salesforce, HubSpot or Zoho
- You review the recording, transcript and summary
You get A CRM-ready lead record from every enquiry call
Consistent intake without manual data entry
Texts answered after hours
Starts A customer texts your business number at night
- AIR responds to the inbound text 24/7 from your knowledge base
- It can book through the text conversation
- Conversations needing a person are handed off with context
You get An answered text thread, often ending in a booking
The text channel stops going dark outside business hours
Where it stops
- Only 100 minutes a month are included on either route — a busy phone hits the $0.50/minute meter quickly
- The $39 price is an add-on: it requires a separate paid RingEX subscription on top
- No live human receptionist backup service
- AIR Pro, the agentic platform tier launched in 2026, has no published price
Getting started
Before you start
- A business number to forward, or a RingCentral number; the $39 route needs an existing RingEX subscription
- A Google or Outlook calendar or Calendly account for booking
- Your website, FAQs or documents for AIR to learn from
The ongoing admin
- Watch the minute meter — 100 included minutes is roughly 33 three-minute calls
- Review transcripts and unanswered-question analytics to fix FAQ gaps
Step 1Auto-create from your website
Enter your website and AIR drafts its configuration — description, hours, FAQs, greetings and services — for you to review.
Step 2Set rules, intake and routing
Adjust greetings, routing rules, lead-capture questions and scheduling behaviour in the self-serve admin portal.
Step 3Connect calendar and CRM, then forward calls
Link your calendar and Salesforce, HubSpot or Zoho, forward your number or connect by SIP, and use the 14-day trial on real calls while watching minutes closely.
Time to first useful result: Under 1 hour · no-code 5/5
Full pricing — checked 2026-11-06
Two routes to the same agent, both with only 100 minutes included: standalone $49/month on any phone system, or $39/month as an add-on to an existing RingEX plan (the RingEX subscription itself is extra). Past 100 minutes, usage is pay-as-you-go at $0.50/minute; extra minute bundles are also sold.
Solo pickAI Receptionist — Standalone
$49/month
Custom / quoted · $49/mo for one person
- 100 minutes a month included
- Works with any phone system via call forwarding or SIP
- 24/7 answering, booking, routing, SMS follow-ups and transcripts
Allowance 100 minutes/mo included, then $0.50 per minute pay-as-you-go
Limit Minutes past the 100 included are billed pay-as-you-go
Overage $0.50 per minute
AI Receptionist — RingEX add-on
$39/month plus your RingEX subscription
Custom / quoted · $39/mo for one person
- 100 minutes a month included
- Same AI Receptionist feature set, native to RingCentral numbers and extensions
Allowance 100 minutes/mo included, then $0.50 per minute pay-as-you-go
Limit Requires an existing paid RingEX phone plan, priced per user on top
Overage $0.50 per minute
Add-onRingEX phone plan (add-on route only) — Separate per-user subscription — required for the $39 add-on price, not for standalone
What could make the bill jump?
Minutes are the meter: 100 are included, then $0.50 each, so a month at 600 minutes costs about $299 standalone — roughly six times the headline. Watch call length as much as call count.
Billing unitper month plus per-minute usage past 100 included minutes
Free tier / trialNo free tier; 14-day free trial
Pricing clarityUsage-based but predictable
Price record · 2026-11-06: Checked 2026-11-06: RingCentral's official blog (May 2026, read today) states standalone AIR starts at $49/month and RingEX customers add it from $39/month, both including 100 minutes. The $0.50/minute pay-as-you-go overage rate and the 14-day free trial are not extractable as text from RingCentral's own pricing page in this run; they are recorded under the corroborated pattern — multiple independent October 2026 reads that cite RingCentral's official AI Receptionist pricing page (checked 2026-10-01) report the same $49/$39 split, 100 minutes, $0.50/minute overage billed in 30-second increments, extra minute bundles and a 14-day trial on both routes. Entry tiers plus scaling rule recorded.
At a glance — the standard checklist
The same fields on every deep listing in this job, so agents compare field by field. “Not verified” means our research has not confirmed it yet — it never means “doesn't have it.”
- Platforms✓ IncludedWeb admin portal; layers onto existing cloud, on-premises or hybrid phone systems by call forwarding or SIP, or runs natively on RingCentral
- Key integrations✓ IncludedSalesforce, HubSpot and Zoho CRM; Google and Outlook calendars; Calendly; Shopify; SMS and WhatsApp channels
- Languages✓ IncludedEnglish, Spanish, French, Italian, German and Portuguese named, with automatic language detection and mid-conversation switching across 10+ languages
- Support channels? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official product or pricing pages checked for this listing.
- Help centre / documentation? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official product or pricing pages checked for this listing.
- Free plan— Not includedNo free plan; a 14-day free trial is offered instead
- Free trial✓ Included14-day free trial, per RingCentral's official pricing page as corroborated by multiple dated October 2026 reads (see price history)
- Human control model✓ IncludedActs + logs everything — calls are recorded and transcribed, and analytics show volumes, resolution rates, transfers and unanswered questions
- Approval controls✓ IncludedYou configure greetings, routing rules, lead-capture questions and scheduling behaviour in advance in the self-serve admin portal
- Data export / exit route? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official product or pricing pages checked for this listing.
- Setup model✓ IncludedSelf-serve: auto-create drafts the receptionist from your website; no technical expertise or IT team required
- Voice calls✓ IncludedAnswers calls 24/7 at any volume, including multiple simultaneous calls, during and after business hours
- SMS✓ IncludedSends SMS follow-ups with forms, links and confirmations, and answers inbound texts 24/7
- Calendar booking✓ IncludedBooks and reschedules via Google and Outlook calendars and Calendly, and sends confirmation texts
- Call transfer✓ IncludedRoutes by name, department, location, keyword or context and transfers with caller details and a call summary
- Call recording / transcripts✓ IncludedEvery call can be recorded and transcribed automatically
- Number porting✓ IncludedYou can keep your current numbers; AIR layers onto existing phone systems via call forwarding or SIP
- After-hours rules✓ IncludedCustom rules and schedules by day, time, number, department or location, including after-hours and call-queue overflow coverage
Best for
- Businesses already on RingEX, where AIR is a $39 add-on rather than a second platform
- Low-volume phones that need multilingual answering and real calendar booking
Not for
- Busy solo phones: 100 included minutes and $0.50/minute overage make typical-volume costs among the highest here
- Buyers who want a human receptionist fallback — AIR is AI-only
Our assessment of RingCentral AI Receptionist
RingCentral AI Receptionist (AIR) is the AI front desk from a large business-phone company, sold two ways: standalone at $49 a month for use on any phone system, or as a $39 a month add-on for customers already paying for a RingEX phone plan. Both include just 100 minutes a month, which is the single most important fact in this listing: at roughly three minutes a call, 100 minutes is about 33 calls, and past the allowance the meter runs at $0.50 a minute, so a genuinely busy solo phone can cost several times the headline price. What you get for it is a capable, natural-language receptionist. It answers around the clock, resolves routine questions from your website, FAQs and uploaded documents, captures leads with your intake questions and logs them to Salesforce, HubSpot or Zoho, books and reschedules through Google or Outlook calendars and Calendly, routes calls with a summary so the person answering has context, sends SMS follow-ups, and now answers inbound texts as well. It detects a caller's language and switches automatically across 10+ languages, records and transcribes calls, and can step in as call-queue overflow. Setup is self-serve: point it at your website and it drafts its own configuration. The honest trade-off is that you are buying into a big platform's meter and ecosystem — excellent if you already run RingEX, expensive and slightly heavyweight if all you wanted was a cheap way to stop missing calls.
Pros — our take
- Natural-language answering with automatic language switching across 10+ languages
- Books real calendar slots (Google, Outlook, Calendly) rather than only texting a link
- Works standalone on any phone system, and is cheapest if you already pay for RingEX
Cons — our take
- Only 100 included minutes — the thinnest allowance in this job — then $0.50/minute
- The $39 route hides a second subscription: a RingEX plan priced per user
- A large-platform product: heavier ecosystem and sales motion than solo-first rivals
Solo Fit input · no-code5/5 — can a non-technical owner run it?
Solo Fit input · setupUnder 1 hour to the first useful result
Solo Fit input · human controlActs + logs everything
Solo Fit input · pricing clarityUsage-based but predictable
A 5/5 no-code score (auto-create from your website), sub-hour setup and published entry prices carry the Solo Fit label; the pricing clarity is usage-based but predictable because the meter — 100 minutes, then $0.50 a minute — is simple, even if it is unforgiving at volume.
Three to compare before you decide
The difference: Quo's Sona is metered per call in credits with overages off by default, inside the cheapest phone plans here; RingCentral meters minutes, so long calls cost more, but its calendar and CRM depth is broader.
The difference: Upfirst bills per call with every feature on every tier and a $24.95 entry; RingCentral's entry is $49 for far fewer included minutes, offset by a bigger platform behind it.
The difference: Smith.ai adds live human receptionists behind its AI for callers who refuse a bot; RingCentral is AI-only but cheaper at very low volume if you already run RingEX.
Questions buyers ask about RingCentral AI Receptionist
What does RingCentral AI Receptionist actually cost a solo founder?
Standalone it is $49/month, or $39/month as an add-on to an existing RingEX plan (which costs extra per user). Both include only 100 minutes; after that, corroborated reads of RingCentral's official pricing page report $0.50 per minute pay-as-you-go. At about 150 minutes a month the standalone bill is about $74; at about 600 minutes, about $299.
Is there a free trial?
Yes — a 14-day free trial is reported on both the standalone and add-on routes by multiple dated October 2026 reads of RingCentral's official pricing page. There is no free plan.
Does it book appointments or just take messages?
It books: AIR connects to Google and Outlook calendars and to Calendly, books and reschedules in real time, and sends the caller a confirmation text. It also answers inbound SMS and can book through a text conversation.
Do I need RingCentral phone service to use it?
No. The standalone route works with existing cloud, on-premises or hybrid phone systems via call forwarding or SIP, and you can keep your current numbers. RingEX is only required for the cheaper $39 add-on price.
Stacks & next steps
RingCentral AI Receptionist is not in a published stack yet — stacks are edited buying guides, and memberships are added only when the combination has been worked through.
Compare all answer the phone & book agents → · How we rank → · Get a weekly shortlist →
Provenance — where this page’s facts came from