Home / Do the Books / Botkeeper
Solo-fit verdictSmall-Team ReadyA sensible buy for a solo bookkeeping practice scaling client work — the catch is it serves firms, and human help starts at a 10-license minimum with no published rate.
True solo cost · low$69/moAbout $69/month for a solo practice supporting its first client entity on one Infinite license (platform only, no human services).
True solo cost · typical$69/moAbout $69/month per client entity at typical solo-practice volume — the bill scales linearly with your client roster, e.g. five entities cost $345/month before any human services.
Rank #20 of 20 in BooksFree start No free plan or trial publishedSetup Multi-dayControl Acts + logs everythingNo-code 3/5Checked · prices checked 2026-11-06
Visit Botkeeper ↗ Compare all do the books agents
The short version
Botkeeper Infinite is per-entity bookkeeping automation for accounting firms, working inside QuickBooks Online or Xero at $69 per client entity a month.
Buy it if
You run a solo or small bookkeeping practice, your clients are on QuickBooks Online or Xero, and you want automation that posts only when it is confident and queues the rest for your review.
Skip it if
You are a founder who just wants your own books kept — this is a firm tool — or you need human bookkeepers from day one: services are unpriced and require 10 active licenses.
What Botkeeper does — the jobs it finishes
Workflows are built only from verified capabilities in our listing research — no vendor copy, nothing invented.
Client books posted with a confidence gate
Starts Transactions land in a client's QuickBooks Online or Xero ledger
- Smart Connect pulls the client's banking data into Botkeeper
- The AI categorises and posts to the GL only when confidence is high — Botkeeper claims 97 percent accuracy on those entries
- Lower-confidence items are surfaced in Bot Review for your judgement
You get Posted books plus a review queue of only the doubtful items
Approval Anything below the confidence threshold waits for your review
Your time goes to exceptions, not data entry, across every client
Reconciliations on autopilot
Starts A bank statement period closes for a client entity
- Auto Bank Recs matches transactions against the ledger
- Mismatches appear in Transaction Insights
- The Close Tracker shows which clients are done
You get Reconciled client accounts with a visible close status
Month-end close stops being a per-client scramble
Adding a new client
Starts Your practice signs a new bookkeeping client
- Add one Infinite license for the new entity at $69/month
- Connect their QuickBooks Online or Xero ledger via Smart Connect
- Scoping confirms the setup before automation runs
You get A new client onboarded at a known, flat marginal cost
Growth pricing is predictable: one client, one license
Layering in human help at capacity
Starts Your roster outgrows what you plus automation can close
- Choose a service tier (Essentials, Core, Professional or Premium)
- Botkeeper scopes a dedicated resource to your clients
- The resource works inside the same platform and ledgers
You get Extra bookkeeping capacity without hiring
Capacity scales without a payroll commitment — once you pass the 10-license minimum
Where it stops
- Built for accounting firms, not for a business keeping only its own books
- Human service tiers are not priced publicly and need a minimum of 10 active licenses to activate
- Full automation requires QuickBooks Online or Xero; other ledgers get a limited Lite license
- Does not file tax returns
Getting started
Before you start
- An accounting or bookkeeping practice serving clients — this is not a single-business ledger
- Clients on QuickBooks Online or Xero for the full automation layer
- At least 10 active Infinite licenses if you want the human service tiers
The ongoing admin
- Review the lower-confidence queue — the confidence gate only works if you clear it
- Watch license count as clients join or leave; every entity is another $69/month
Step 1Scope your client roster
List the entities you will support; each needs its own Infinite license at $69/month, and scoping is required for any client a dedicated resource will touch.
Step 2Connect client ledgers
Link each client's QuickBooks Online or Xero via Smart Connect so feeds, GL automation and bank recs can run.
Step 3Set the review habit
Work the Bot Review queue for lower-confidence items; white-glove onboarding and training are included per the vendor.
Time to first useful result: Multi-day · no-code 3/5
Full pricing — checked 2026-11-06
Platform pricing is published: one Infinite license per client entity at $69/entity/month, month-to-month billing available, including Smart Connect, GL Auto, Auto Bank Recs and Firm Insights. The optional human service tiers (Essentials, Core, Professional, Premium) are billed flat per dedicated resource at rates that are NOT published, and require a minimum of 10 active licenses.
Solo pickInfinite license
$69 per entity per month
Flat / month · $69/mo for one person
- One license per client entity
- Smart Connect, GL Auto, Auto Bank Recs and Firm Insights
- Close tracker, transaction manager, JE automation, bot review and transaction insights
Allowance 1 client entity per license
Limit Full automation requires the client to run QuickBooks Online or Xero
Limit Human services are a separate, unpriced add-on
Add-onDedicated human services (Essentials / Core / Professional / Premium) — Flat monthly rate per assigned resource — rate not published; minimum 10 active Infinite licenses required to activate
Add-onInfinite Lite license — Priced separately in your agreement — for clients not on QuickBooks Online or Xero, without the automation layer
What could make the bill jump?
The meter is your client roster: every new client entity adds $69/month. The real jump is human help — activating dedicated services needs at least 10 active licenses ($690/month of platform fees) plus an unpriced per-resource fee, so ask for that figure before you commit.
Billing unitper client entity per month (platform license); human services quoted per resource
Free tier / trialNo free plan published
Pricing clarityClear flat price
Price record · 2026-11-06: Checked 2026-11-06 against Botkeeper's own pages: its official knowledge page (Plans & Licensing, read today) prices Infinite licenses at $69 per entity, and Botkeeper's own site banners state $69/entity per month with month-to-month billing available. Variant note: an October 2026 read of Botkeeper's dedicated pricing page reported volume tiers ($149 per license/month for 1-4 licenses down to $59 at 25+, less on annual billing) — the vendor's current knowledge page and site banners present the flat $69 figure, which is what this listing records as the entry price; the scaling rule that survives both variants is one license per client entity. Human service tiers publish no rates in either variant. Entry price plus scaling rule recorded.
At a glance — the standard checklist
The same fields on every deep listing in this job, so agents compare field by field. “Not verified” means our research has not confirmed it yet — it never means “doesn't have it.”
- Platforms✓ IncludedWeb cloud platform for accounting firms, working across a client base
- Key integrations✓ IncludedQuickBooks Online and Xero ledgers, via Smart Connect; each Infinite license includes Smart Connect, GL Auto, Auto Bank Recs and Firm Insights
- Languages? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pages checked for this listing.
- Support channels✓ IncludedFree, unlimited email and phone support, white-glove onboarding and training, and Botkeeper University, per the vendor's homepage
- Help centre / documentation✓ IncludedOnline knowledge base and a dedicated learning environment (Botkeeper University)
- Free plan— Not includedNo free plan is published
- Free trial? Not verifiedNo free trial is stated on the vendor's official pages checked for this listing.
- Human control model✓ IncludedActs + logs everything with a confidence gate: the AI posts to the GL only when confidence is high and surfaces the rest for review
- Approval controls✓ IncludedBot Review and transaction insights surface lower-confidence work for your review before it settles
- Data export / exit route? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pages checked for this listing.
- Setup model✓ IncludedAssisted: scoping is required for every client a dedicated resource touches, with onboarding and training included
- Works inside an existing ledger✓ IncludedWorks inside clients' QuickBooks Online or Xero ledgers — full automation requires a supported cloud GL
- Replaces the ledger— Not includedIt does not replace the ledger; QuickBooks Online or Xero remains the book of record
- Bank feeds✓ IncludedSmart Connect and Auto Bank Recs are included with every Infinite license
- Receipt capture? Not verifiedA Documents module is listed, but receipt capture is not stated on the vendor's official pages checked for this listing.
- Reconciliation✓ IncludedAuto Bank Recs automates bank reconciliation across client entities
- Invoice chasing? Not verifiedNot stated on the vendor's official pages checked for this listing.
- Human bookkeeper / reviewer included— Not includedHuman bookkeepers are an optional add-on: four service tiers billed per dedicated resource at unpublished rates, requiring a minimum of 10 active Infinite licenses — not included in the $69 license
- Files tax returns— Not includedBotkeeper is bookkeeping automation; it does not file tax returns
Best for
- Solo bookkeeping or accounting practices whose clients run QuickBooks Online or Xero
- Practices that want predictable per-client costs they can price into their own fees
Not for
- Founders keeping only their own books — use a direct ledger or a done-for-you service instead
- Practices needing human bookkeepers immediately: services are unpriced and start at a 10-license minimum
Our assessment of Botkeeper
Botkeeper Infinite is bookkeeping automation built for accounting firms rather than for businesses keeping their own books, and this listing only makes sense if you read it that way: its natural solo buyer is a one-person accounting or bookkeeping practice that wants software to do client bookkeeping inside QuickBooks Online or Xero. Each client entity needs its own Infinite license at $69 per entity per month, and every license includes Smart Connect, GL Auto, Auto Bank Recs and Firm Insights. The AI posts directly to the general ledger only when its confidence is high — Botkeeper claims 97 percent accuracy on those entries — and surfaces anything lower-confidence for your review, alongside transaction management, journal-entry automation, a close tracker and bot review tools. If you want people as well as software, four service tiers (Essentials, Core, Professional, Premium) add trained bookkeeping resources billed as a flat monthly rate per resource, but those rates are not published, and services require a minimum of 10 active Infinite licenses. A cheaper Lite license exists for clients not on QuickBooks Online or Xero, priced only in your agreement, without the automation layer. For a solo practitioner with a growing client roster the per-entity model scales predictably; for a founder who simply wants their own books kept, it is the wrong shape — look at a direct ledger or a done-for-you service instead.
Pros — our take
- Flat, published per-entity price — no sales call needed for the platform itself
- Confidence-gated posting: automation stops and asks when it is unsure, which suits client work
- Works inside the QuickBooks Online or Xero ledgers your clients already keep
Cons — our take
- Firm-shaped, not founder-shaped: a business with only its own books is not the buyer
- Human help is unpriced and locked behind a 10-license minimum
- Vendor pages have carried two pricing variants ($69 flat vs volume tiers), so confirm your rate in the agreement
Solo Fit input · no-code3/5 — can a non-technical owner run it?
Solo Fit input · setupMulti-day to the first useful result
Solo Fit input · human controlActs + logs everything
Solo Fit input · pricing clarityClear flat price
The platform price is flat and published, carrying pricing clarity, but a 3/5 no-code score, multi-day scoped onboarding and a firm-first shape hold it to Small-Team Ready for a solo. The confidence gate is a genuine control strength for client work.
Three to compare before you decide
DocytQuote only · Small-Team Ready The difference: Docyt is a quote-only, per-property service aimed at hotels and property portfolios; Botkeeper publishes its per-entity platform price and is aimed at accounting firms working inside QBO or Xero.
The difference: Pilot is a done-for-you bookkeeping service for a business's own books, priced from published tiers; Botkeeper is software a practice runs across many client entities.
Bench$399/mo · Solo-Ready The difference: Bench pairs software with its own bookkeepers for one business's books; Botkeeper sells automation to the firm doing the books, with humans only as an unpriced add-on.
Questions buyers ask about Botkeeper
What does Botkeeper cost for a solo practice?
The platform is $69 per client entity per month for an Infinite license, with month-to-month billing available — one client costs $69/month, five clients cost $345/month. That covers the software only: dedicated human services are billed per resource at rates Botkeeper does not publish.
Is Botkeeper quote-only?
Not for the platform: Botkeeper's own knowledge page publishes the $69-per-entity license price. What is quote-only is the human layer — the four service tiers publish no rates, and activating them requires a minimum of 10 active Infinite licenses. An October 2026 read of its pricing page also showed volume license tiers, so confirm the rate written into your agreement.
Does Botkeeper replace QuickBooks or Xero?
No — it works inside them. Full automation requires a client to run QuickBooks Online or Xero; clients on other ledgers can only get a limited Lite license without Smart Connect automation, bank reconciliation or transaction processing.
Does a human check the work?
The software checks itself by confidence: entries post automatically only when confidence is high, and the rest are surfaced for your review. Human bookkeepers are an optional, separately priced service, not part of the $69 license.
Stacks & next steps
Botkeeper is not in a published stack yet — stacks are edited buying guides, and memberships are added only when the combination has been worked through.
Compare all do the books agents → · How we rank → · Get a weekly shortlist →
Provenance — where this page’s facts came from